Driver's License FAQ
 

  • I am on active military duty and my Minnesota driver's license is about to expire, what do I do?
    If you are on active duty with the U.S. armed forces and have a valid Minnesota driver's license, you are not required to renew your license until you are discharged, regardless of your length of service.
    • To ensure that your driving record will be maintained after your license expires, please notify Driver and Vehicle Services of your military status. Send a written statement and a copy of your military ID card with your entry date or a letter from your commanding officer verifying your entry date and active duty status to DVS, 445 Minnesota Street, St. Paul, MN 55101.
    • You must renew your license within 90 days of your discharge date by presenting your Minnesota driver's license and your DD214 military discharge papers, at a driver's license renewal office.
    • This law also applies to the spouse of someone on active duty, if the spouse does not reside in Minnesota during the active duty period.
    Top
  • I am moving, what do I do about my driver’s license?
    Minnesota law requires that you apply for a new driver's license within 30 days of changing your address. Important information about your driving privileges and license renewal is sent to the address displayed on your driver's license. This information is not forwarded, so it is important that you keep your address up to date. You may apply for a new license at any driver's license office. The fee for a duplicate license is $13.50.
    Top
  • I've lost my license, how do I replace it?
    If your current driver's license is lost, damaged, or destroyed you must apply for a duplicate license. You may apply for a new license at any driver's license office. The fee for a duplicate license is $13.50. The driver's license office will use the driver's license photo on file to verify your identity. If they are not able to verify your identity or your name has changed since your last application, you will need to provide additional identification. For identification requirements - click here.
    Top
  • I recently changed my name; do I need to get a new driver's license?
    Minnesota law requires that you apply for a new driver's license within 30 days of legally changing your name. You must present your current driver's license and a certified marriage certificate, a certified divorce or dissolution of marriage decree specifying the name change, or other certified court order specifying the name change. You may apply for a new license at any driver's license office. The fee for a duplicate license is $13.50
    Top