Which web browsers are compatible with renewing online?
Internet Explorer is the only supported browser for online renewal. (An error
may occur when using Firefox, Chrome, Safari or any other browser.)
Internet Explorer must be run in Compatibility Mode
What registrations can be renewed online?
Online registration is available for passenger vehicles, recreational vehicles,
motorcycles, mopeds, trailers, and some trucks provided you do not want to
change the gross weight of the truck and are not required to have a US DOT
Passenger vehicles may be renewed up to six (6) months before registration
Trucks, trailers, and motorcycles may be renewed up to three (3) months before
registration expires. Registration may be renewed for up to 10 months after
registration expires for all types of vehicles.
Is there an additional fee to renew online?
Effective January 14, 2015, the service fee for online renewal payments made by
credit card is 2.49% of the total amount. ACH payments charge a service fee of
$1.50. This fee is separate from other fees collected at the time of renewal,
such as registration tax and filing fees. The service fee offsets the cost
associated with processing electronic payments.
The service fee only applies to electronic (online) transactions. Customers who
do not wish to pay the additional service fee may renew their registration by
mail or in person at a deputy registrar office.
If I renew online, how long will it take to get my tabs?
You should receive your tabs within 7-10 days.
What are my payment options if I renew online?
US Bank accepts Master Card and Visa. You may also choose to pay by automatic
withdrawal from your checking account (ACH).
What if I do not have sufficient funds to cover the registration fees when US
Bank make the account deduction.
US Bank charges $30 for insufficient funds.
Can I renew online if I need to change my address?
Yes. Please click on the "Address Change" line found in Step 3 of the renewal
process and provide your current address.
Minnesota law requires that you apply for a new driver's license within 30 days
of changing your address. The fee is $15.75. Many motor vehicle offices are
also able to take your driver's license application.
I received a renewal notice for a car I no longer own. What do I do?
If you sold or traded your vehicle to a dealer, you do not need to do anything.
However, if you sold your vehicle to an individual, you should file a report of
sale. You can do this online or by visiting your local deputy registrar office.
I winter in another state. Will I receive my tabs if I choose to renew online?
Yes, if you filed a forwarding address with the post office. If you do not file
a forwarding address with the post office, the tabs will be delivered to the
address on your renewal notice.
Am I required to have insurance for my vehicle?
Yes. When you register a vehicle in Minnesota you are attesting that the
vehicle is properly insured. The Minnesota No-Fault Act requires owners of
registered motor vehicles to maintain no-fault insurance. Drivers are also
required to carry proof of insurance in the vehicle at all times and to provide
it to peace officers upon demand. (Reference: Minnesota Statutes, section
I just moved to Minnesota, can I register my vehicle online?
Welcome to Minnesota! You will need to go to a deputy registrar office to
register your vehicle for the first time in Minnesota. Please bring your
vehicle title, or if that is not available, the vehicle's current registration
card. You will also need to present identification, such as your current
The deputy registrar will issue you Minnesota license plates and registration
stickers. Next year you will be able to renew the registration online.
My renewal shows a plate fee, but my plates are in good condition - do I have to
get new ones? Yes. Minnesota law requires that DVS replace the plates
on passenger vehicles (including personalized, collegiate and critical habitat)
every seven years. If a plate fee appears on your renewal notice, it means that
your plates are due for a seven-year replacement.
I noticed that one of my license plates is missing - can I renew and replace the
Yes. In step 3 of the online renewal process, check the New Plates box under
Plate Options. Select the type of plate from the drop down menu. You will also
need to indicate the reason for the replacement (lost, stolen, etc.).
There is a Gross Wt./Base listed on my renewal notice - what is that?
Trucks (one ton and greater) and trailers are taxed upon the gross weight of
the vehicle. This is the weight displayed on the renewal notice.
Registration tax for passenger vehicles is determined in part upon the base
value of the vehicle as provided by the manufacture when the vehicle was new.
This is the base that is listed on your renewal notice. It does not represent
the current value of the vehicle. Registration tax is also determined by the
age of the vehicle.
What is the Tech Surcharge?
A surcharge of $1.00 is charged on every driver's license and title transaction
and on every tab renewal, except when done in conjunction with a title
transfer, effective July 1, 2012, and ending June 30, 2016. The surcharge will
be used to build and implement the replacement of the existing driver's license
and motor vehicle information systems.
What is a wheelage tax?
A Wheelage tax is a $10 tax that is levied by a metropolitan county board of
commissioners on vehicles kept in their county. (Reference:
Minnesota Statutes, section 163.051.) The tax is determined by where
the vehicle is ordinarily stored or parked during non-business hours or when
not in use; the tax does not apply to vehicles that do not require an annual
registration tax. If you have any questions related to the Wheelage tax, they
can be directed to your participating counties listed on the
Driver and Vehicle Services (DVS) website.
Do I have to pay the wheelage tax if I live in Ramsey County but work
in Anoka County?
Yes. The tax is based on where the vehicle is kept, not parked during the
course of the day. Kept means where a vehicle is ordinarily or routinely
stored, located, or parked during non-business hours or when not in use in the
course of general transportation. Usually, this is your place of residence.
Is the wheelage tax due if I keep my vehicle at my cabin up north?
If it is in a Wheelage tax participating county. You will need to indicate on
your renewal the county in which the vehicle is kept.
Can I get a refund if I pay the tax at time of registration and then move to a
county that does not have a wheelage tax?
No. The tax is based on where the vehicle is kept at the time of registration
and is non-refundable.